Back
Léa The 16 June 2022

(White paper) Three simple solutions to create value with your data

Data quality management has thus become an imperative for any company, regardless of its stage of digitalization. Because poor quality data has a cost: 10 million euros per year, according to Gartner.

We are all data workers

To explain what a data worker is, let’s take an example. Mehdi is an intern in the sales department of a large company. He targets prospects and makes calls to present the service he wants to sell. He fills in the information about the customer and the call process in an Excel file.

The problem is that Mehdi doesn’t really care about the quality of the data he fills in: he misspells the prospect’s last name, forgets to fill in the company’s location and only transcribes 2 of the 3 questions raised. He had to move fast and after all, he thought, these errors would have little influence on a database already containing 500 prospects.

However, not only is Mehdi not the only one to make this type of mistake, but he is mistaken in thinking that these data are not essential. In fact, they will be used by the marketing department, which wants to automate the analysis of consumer expectations based on their place of work.

At 21, Mehdi is already handling data that will have a strategic impact on the company. He is a data worker.

Exploiting your data: an imponderable

Therefore, for many companies, data management has a huge influence on their business model: the ability to analyze information becomes more important than the product sold. We are witnessing a paradigm shift: from a service provider logic to a data provider logic.

For example, in retail, with the emergence of online sales platforms, product data is becoming the core of companies’ selling power. In the banking sector, it is customer data that is most valued. The same goes for the pharmaceutical industry, which is in the midst of a revolution with “health tech” representing a total of 55 billion euros raised worldwide in 2021, with the main players vying for control of health data.

Having data, and more specifically quality data, is therefore vital for companies, whatever their sector of activity.

The financial impact of poor data quality on businesses

  • According to Gartner, companies lose between 10 and 13 million
    each year due to poor data quality.
  • Every year, 55 hours of work and €35,000 are lost by companies
    companies because salespeople use bad lead data.
    data.
  • Incomplete and inaccurate data leads to a decrease in
    of 20% per year.
    Employees spend nearly half their time solving data quality
    data quality issues.
  • 21% of companies have lost reputation due to poor data quality.
    quality of their data.

Fortunately, solutions exist!

Post Linkedin 2

Download our book and discover simple solutions to :

  • to exploit more simply the ever-increasing quantities of data;
  • Build a corporate culture based on smooth data exchange;
  • Launch and grow using the right tools and processes.

To discover, it’s here !

ContentsLinked

Retour
Léa Le 16 juin 2022

(Livre-blanc) Trois solutions simples pour créer de la valeur avec vos données

La gestion de la qualité des données est ainsi devenue un impératif pour toute société, quel que soit son stade de digitalisation. Car les données de mauvaise qualité ont un coût : 10 millions d’euros par an, selon Gartner.

Nous sommes toustes des data workers

Pour expliquer ce qu’est un data worker, prenons un exemple. Mehdi est stagiaire dans le département commercial d’une grande entreprise. Il cible des prospects et passe des appels pour leur présenter la prestation qu’il souhaite vendre. Il renseigne les informations sur le client et sur le déroulé de l’appel dans un fichier Excel.

Le problème, c’est que Mehdi ne se soucie pas vraiment de la qualité des données qu’il renseigne : il orthographie mal le nom de famille du prospect, oublie de renseigner la localisation de l’entreprise et ne retranscrit que 2 des 3 questions soulevées. Il faut bien aller vite et après tout, pense-t’il, ces erreurs n’auront que peu d’influence dans une base de données contenant déjà 500 prospects.

Pourtant, non seulement Mehdi n’est pas le seul à commettre ce type d’erreurs mais il se trompe en pensant que ces données-là ne sont pas essentielles. En effet, elles vont notamment servir au département marketing qui souhaite automatiser l’analyse des attentes des consommateurs en fonction de leur lieu de travail.

A 21 ans, Mehdi manipule donc déjà des données qui vont avoir un impact stratégique sur l’entreprise. C’est un data worker.

Exploiter ses données : un impondérable

Dès lors, pour de nombreuses entreprises, la gestion des données a une très grande influence sur leur modèle économique : la capacité à analyser de l’information devient plus importante que le produit vendu. Nous assistons à un changement de paradigme : d’une logique de fournisseurs de services à une logique de fournisseurs de données.

Par exemple, dans la distribution, avec l’émergence des plateformes de vente en ligne, les données des produits deviennent le cœur de la puissance de vente des entreprises. Dans le secteur bancaire, ce sont les données clients qui sont les plus valorisées. Idem pour l’industrie pharmaceutique, en pleine révolution avec la « health tech » qui représente un total de 55 milliards d’euros levés dans le monde en 2021, dont les principaux acteurs se disputent la maîtrise des données de santé.

Disposer de données, et plus particulièrement de données de qualité, est donc vital pour les entreprises, quel que soit leur secteur d’activité.

L’impact financier de la mauvaise qualité des données sur les entreprises 

  • D’après Gartner, les entreprises perdent entre 10 et 13 millions d’euros
    chaque année à cause de la mauvaise qualité de leurs données.
  • Chaque année, 55 heures de travail et 35 000 € sont perdues par les
    entreprises parce que les commerciaux utilisent de mauvaises données de
    prospects.
  • Les données incomplètes et imprécises entraînent une baisse de
    productivité de 20% par an.
  • Les employés passent près de la moitié de leur temps à résoudre des
    problèmes liés à la qualité des données.
  • 21% des entreprises ont perdu en réputation à cause de la mauvaise
    qualité de leurs données.

Heureusement des solutions existent !

Post Linkedin 2

Téléchargez notre livre et découvrez des solutions simples pour :

  • exploiter plus simplement des quantités de données toujours plus importantes ;
  • construire une culture d’entreprise basée sur des échanges de données fluides ;
  • vous lancer et vous développer en utilisant les bons outils ainsi que les meilleurs processus.

Pour découvrir, c’est ici !

Contenusliés